California PE

Pre-Licensing Education Requirements

The California-DFPI (Department of Financial Protection & Innovation) formerly known as Department of Business Oversight (DBO) requires that individuals seeking licensure as an MLO are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education that includes 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which must include instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 10 hours of undefined elective education plus 2 hours of CA-DFPI state-specific law.

Please see below for our options for the California 2 Hour state-specific pre-licensing education course.

The California DRE (Department of Real Estate) requires individuals seeking licensure as an MLO are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education that includes 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics, 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, and 12 hours of undefined elective education. CA DRE does not have a state-specific education requirement.

If you haven’t completed your initial 20 hours of SAFE education, click here to view our 20 Hour SAFE options.