Pre-Licensing Education Requirements
The Texas-OCC (Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner) requires that individuals seeking licensure as an MLO are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education that includes 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which must include instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, and 12 hours of undefined elective education. Texas-OCC does not require any state-specific education.
The Texas-SML (Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending) requires that individuals seeking licensure as an MLO are required to complete 23 hours of NMLS-approved education that includes 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics, 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 12hours of undefined elective education, and 3 hours of Texas-SML law.
If you haven’t completed your initial 20 hours of SAFE education, click here to view our 20 Hour SAFE options.
Please see below for our options for the Texas 3-Hour state-specific pre-licensing education course.