Let’s explore the MLO license education requirements in Florida. Florida requires individuals seeking to be licensed as an MLO to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved pre-licensing education. This education covers federal law, ethics, instruction on non-traditional mortgage lending, elective education, and as well as Florida-specific education.
As mentioned, Florida MLO applicants must complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education includes 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (covering fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 10 hours of elective education, and 2 hours of Florida state-specific defined electives.
In addition to pre-licensing education, you will also need to pass the National MLO Exam and undergo a criminal background check before licensing. Utilize the Florida MLO Application Checklist provided by the NMLS to assist you in the application process. You can view the full checklist using the link below.
Aspiring MLO’s in Florida are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved SAFE education prior to licensure. My Mortgage Trainer offers a range of format options for the 20-hour course to cater to your study needs and accommodate your schedule. Begin your journey towards MLO licensure in Connecticut with My Mortgage Trainer today. View our course and test preparation options here.
Florida MLO applicants must also complete 2 hours of Florida Office of Financial Regulation (FL-OFR) defined electives, covering required topics such as Licensing and Operation Requirements for Mortgage Brokers, Mortgage Lenders, and Mortgage Loan Originators. Explore our online self-study option now.
To fulfill the Pre-licensing Requirements for Florida, you must also pass the NMLS National MLO Exam and acquire your NMLS ID Number. We have developed informational videos to guide you through obtaining your NMLS ID, scheduling the exam, and excel with valuable tips. Subscribe to our YouTube Channel for more great tips and industry-related news!