Let’s explore the MLO license education requirements in Louisiana. Aspiring MLO’s in Louisiana must complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This comprehensive education encompasses 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics (addressing fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, and 12 hours of elective education.
Louisiana does not impose any additional state-specific pre-licensing education requirements beyond the initial 20 hours of SAFE education. Once you complete the 20 hours of SAFE education, you are ready to take your exam without needing any further education.
In addition to pre-licensing education, you will also need to pass the National MLO Exam and undergo a criminal background check before licensing. Utilize the Louisiana MLO Application Checklist provided by the NMLS to assist you in the application process. You can view the full checklist using the link below.
MLO applicants in Louisiana are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved SAFE education prior to licensure. My Mortgage Trainer offers a range of format options for the 20-hour course to cater to your study needs and accommodate your schedule. Begin your journey towards MLO licensure in Louisiana with My Mortgage Trainer today. View our course and test preparation options here.
In addition to completing the pre-licensing education requirements for Louisiana, you must also pass the NMLS National MLO Exam and acquire your NMLS ID Number. We have developed informational videos to guide you through obtaining your NMLS ID, scheduling the exam, and excel with valuable tips. Subscribe to our YouTube Channel for more great tips and industry-related news!