MLO License Education Requirements in Michigan

Overview of Education Requirements in Michigan

Let’s explore the MLO license education requirements in Michigan.  To obtain an MLO license, individuals in Michigan must complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved pre-licensing education. This education covers federal law, ethics, non-traditional mortgage lending, elective education, and Michigan-specific topics

State Specific MLO License Education Requirements in Michigan

As mentioned, Michigan MLO applicants must complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education includes 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (covering fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 10 hours of elective education, and 2 hours of Michigan state-specific defined electives.

Application Process

In addition to pre-licensing education, you will also need to pass the National MLO Exam and undergo a criminal background check before licensing. Utilize the Michigan MLO Application Checklist provided by the NMLS to assist you in the application process. You can view the full checklist using the link below.

View the Michigan Application Checklist

At a Glance

  • NMLS Approved Education: 20 Hours
  • MI State Specific Education: 2 Hours
  • MI License/Registration Fee: $75.00
  • NMLS Processing Fee: $30.00
  • Credit Report Fee: $15.00
  • Background Check Fee: $36.25

Completing your SAFE20 Education

Aspiring MLO’s in Michigan are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved SAFE education prior to licensure. My Mortgage Trainer offers a range of format options for the 20-hour course to cater to your study needs and accommodate your schedule. Begin your journey towards MLO licensure in Michigan with My Mortgage Trainer today. View our course and test preparation options here.

Completing Your Michigan Education

Michigan MLO applicants must also complete 2 hours of Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services (MI-DIFS) defined electives, covering required topics such as The Mortgage Brokers, Lenders, and Servicers Act, the Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing Act, the Secondary Mortgage Loan Act, The Consumer Mortgage Protection Act, The Mortgage Lending Practices Act, and the Consumer Financial Services Act. Explore our online self-study option now. 

Additional Info on Requirements for Becoming a Licensed MLO in Michigan

In addition to meeting Michigan’s pre-licensing education requirements, you must also pass the NMLS National MLO Exam and acquire your NMLS ID Number. We have developed informational videos to guide you through obtaining your NMLS ID, scheduling the exam, and excel with valuable tips. Subscribe to our YouTube Channel for more great tips and industry-related news!