South Carolina Continuing Education Requirements
Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of SC education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/ + 1hr of SC law = 8
Please note that if you are licensed through the South Carolina DCA, you must take the South Carolina DCA course. If you are licensed through the South Carolina BFI, you must take the South Carolina BFI course. If you order and complete the wrong course, the NMLS will not accept your completion. Please verify which agency you are licensed with before ordering.
You can view our South Carolina BFI and DCA 1 Hour Continuing Education Course options below. If you haven’t completed your annual 8 hours of SAFE education, click here to view our 7 & 8 Hour SAFE CE options. Our SAFE 7 & 8 hour courses are valid in all 50 states, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.
If you are licensed through the BFI, the deadline to complete CE is December 31 annually. If you are licensed through the DCA, the deadline to complete CE is November 30 annually. However, MLOs in South Carolina are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE. Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.