MLO License Education Requirements in Tennessee

Overview of Education Requirements in Tennessee

Let’s explore the MLO license education requirements in Tennessee. To obtain an MLO license, individuals in Tennessee must complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved pre-licensing education. This education covers federal law, ethics, non-traditional mortgage lending, elective education, and Tennessee-specific topics.

State Specific MLO License Education Requirements in Tennessee

As mentioned, Tennessee MLO applicants must complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education includes 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (covering fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 10 hours of elective education, and 2 hours of Tennessee state-specific defined electives.

Application Process

In addition to pre-licensing education, you will also need to pass the National MLO Exam and undergo a criminal background check before licensing. Utilize the Maryland MLO Application Checklist provided by the NMLS to assist you in the application process. You can view the full checklist using the link below.

View the Tennessee Application Checklist

At a Glance

  • NMLS Approved Education: 20 Hours
  • TN State Specific Education: 2 Hours
  • TN License Fee: $100.00
  • TN License Fee: $100.00
  • NMLS Processing Fee: $30.00
  • Credit Report Fee: $15.00
  • Background Check Fee: $36.25

Completing your SAFE20 Education

Aspiring MLO’s in Tennessee are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved SAFE education prior to licensure. My Mortgage Trainer offers a range of format options for the 20-hour course to cater to your study needs and accommodate your schedule. Begin your journey towards MLO licensure in Tennessee with My Mortgage Trainer today. View our course and test preparation options here.

Completing Your Tennessee Education

Tennessee MLO applicants must also complete 2 hours of Tennessee Department of Financial Institutions (TDFI) defined electives, covering required topics such as The Tennessee Residential Lending, Brokerage and Servicing Act, the Tennessee Home Loan Protection Act, as well as Tennessee rules pertaining to mortgage lending, loan servicing, and loan brokering. Explore our online self-study option below.

Additional Info on Requirements for Becoming a Licensed MLO in Tennessee

In addition to meeting Tennessee’s pre-licensing education requirements, you must also pass the NMLS National MLO Exam and acquire your NMLS ID Number. We have developed informational videos to guide you through obtaining your NMLS ID, scheduling the exam, and excel with valuable tips. Subscribe to our YouTube Channel for more great tips and industry-related news!